I’m back!

Dear Friend,

I’m sorry it’s been so long since I’ve written! Things have gotten a little crazy between our house being broken into, meeting with contractors/architects for our kitchen reno, dipping our toes into sugaring and trying to be more social/less hermity 🙂

After our house was broken into, I was feeling very uninspired and unmotivated to cook.  I felt uncomfortable in our house and especially in our kitchen/dining area since it has so many windows and no blinds or curtains.  I repositioned where I cut vegetables so that I could keep tabs on the backyard and every little noise startled me and made me reach for my trusty baseball bat that I carried around with me.  I hated being in the kitchen and that’s normally my favorite place to be.  After a couple weeks of this anxious and unsettling feeling, I realized that I can let that d-bag have such a big impact on my life.  I wanted to get back to normal life and while I’m still a little on edge, I’m not carrying a baseball bat around anymore.

On to food…

On Sundays when P has drill weekend, I spend some time doing food prep for the week or making special desserts or snacks.  I’ve had my eye on these breakfast cookies for awhile and so this most recent drill weekend seemed like the perfect opportunity to whip these together.  I already had all the ingredients on hand which always makes things more appealing.

breakfast cookies

The Verdict:  These were really really good!!   Instead of the Trader Joe’s super seed and ancient grain blend, I used 1/2 tablespoon of uncooked quinoa and 1/2 tablespoon of chia seeds.  I also threw in a tablespoon of ground flax meal to the mix and found that I didn’t need to add water, it seemed gooey enough.  My one complaint (which isn’t really a complaint) is that I only got 18 cookies out of it.  I used a regular cookie scoop which may be bigger than the one they used but if I’m having a cookie, I’m not having tiny cookie 🙂  These were really fun to have for breakfast and a nice change of pace.  And like she says- they don’t leave any crumbs which is a huge bonus as I somehow always end up with food on my clothing.  Or my chin. Or my nose.  I’m definitely going to be making these again! I think they’d be a great mid-morning snack or a post workout snack or a sugaring snack or a couch snack 🙂

Hope you guys are doing well and thank you for being so patient with my hiatus 🙂 Happy cooking (and eating)!

Love, Marissa

 

Leave a Reply

