Reset…again

Dear Friend,

I’m so excited for your new food processor!!! They are so fun and make food prep so much easier!  I can’t wait to hear what kind of scrumptious food you make with it!

We are resetting AGAIN after our vacation in Colorado.  It was a week full of family, skiing and tasty food.  While our dinner’s weren’t unhealthy, our lunches were not so great.  Well they were great but fairly bad for you.  But really, who can resist waffle fries covered in cheddar beer sauce and salsa?? Not this girl.  So this week in order to reset again, we decided to go meat, booze and dessert free.  I’ve easily adhered to the first two but lost my cool Monday night and gave in to some Ben and Jerry’s.  Mondays are just so hard (waaaaah) and it’s much easier to ease into the rest of the week with ice cream.

Anyhoo, your bean burger reminded me how much I love them and how I really don’t eat them often enough.  I especially love them because they’re easy to make and they’re a great easy meal to pull out of the freezer.  So I decided to whip some up this week.  And not only that, I did it WITHOUT a recipe.  I know, shouldn’t be a big deal but you know I’m a slave to recipes.  This is certainly not a genius, how-did-she-come-up-with-that meal, but it was tasty enough and mostly I just wanted to share/brag that I’m making an effort towards one of my cooking/kitchen goals (less colorful language, not so much).  This is actually the second meal I’ve made without a recipe as I made some soup yesterday all by my big girl self.  Soup and veggie burgers are not hard for a normal person but it was a big step for me!  Cooking without a recipe has been surprisingly liberating and I’m excited to expand my horizons!

I didn’t measure anything so this is all just an estimate.  I also didn’t take a picture because I feel like veggie burgers all look the same and I just shoved all of it in half a pita pocket.  Here goes…

Makes 8 burgers

  • 2 cans chickpeas (I smashed them in a ziploc bag but you could also use a food processor. It’s not as therapeutic). 
  • 1/2 cup red lentils, cooked (for extra protein/filling)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs (I nearly published this with it saying panic bread crumbs)
  • 2-3 carrots, shredded (for extra veggies)
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped (could have done more but was too tired/lazy to keep chopping)
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup (because duh)
  • A couple shakes chipotle chili pepper and smoked paprika
  • A few shakes garlic powder and onion powder
  • More than a few shakes salt and pepper

Mix in a bowl, fry in pan and voila!

Verdict: They were good! I mean like I said, they are nothing super clever but easy and tasty.  I put my little patty in a pita pocket with a a touch of mayo and ketchup, a couple avocado slices and some banana peppers.  Since I was kinda craving a burger it definitely hit the spot but not sure P will agree (this is why I make these kinds of things when he works at night).  But I figure you can really make it whatever you want with condiments/toppings.  I’m guessing when P has this tomorrow he’ll throw some avocados in and drench it with sriracha.  I’m also guessing he’s going to eat a real burger this weekend.

Anyway, I’m so glad you guys had a fun and delicious Christmas! Since I didn’t take a picture of my dinner and there was charting room chatter at work that I should include Toby in the blog more, here’s a pic of my little buddy tonight.  He’s very suspicious whenever I try to take a pic of him and is not pleased I woke him up from his nap.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Happy cooking!!!

Love, Marissa

Leave a Reply

