Baked Bucatini

Dear Friend,

This will be a little brief and not so witty as I’m not feeling the greatest.  My throat hurts, my ears are a little itchy and my face feels like it’s on fire.  But other than that, things have been great around here! It was so great to see you and chat about food and life in real life! I’m not sure what I said that was so inspiring but I’m glad you’re back at it in the kitchen!  I definitely go through phases where I want to spend my energy in ways other than chopping veggies, manning the stove top and cleaning up dishes.  I think it’s good to have balance because while I love cooking and eating, there’s a lot more to life than being in the kitchen!

I’ve been struggling trying to figure out what to share with you as we’ve been eating a little more meat than we normally do.  I think it’s because I’ve been leaning towards crock pot meals and soups that have a little more to them than pureed veggies.  Again, it’s all about balance for me.

A while back I told you about this cauliflower sauce recipe that I had used for a creamy rice dish.  I’ve also enjoyed using it in enchiladas and soup but the easiest thing to use it for, of course, is pasta.  You know I love me a good pasta dish.

I gave P the option of using it for a mac and cheese or simply as an alfredo sauce with some broccoli.  Obviously he chose the mac and cheese.  Unfortunately the half empty spoofer box of penne tricked me again and we had to modify the plan.  Baked bucatini it is! After making the cauliflower sauce, I mixed in a combo of cheddar and Monterey jack cheese along with a splash of the pasta water and a tiny pat of butter (I can’t help myself).  I threw it together with the bucatini, put it in a baking dish, sprinkled some parm and panko bread crumbs on top and crossed my fingers hoping it wouldn’t get dried out and become noodle sticks.

IMG_3241

The Verdict: Delish! That sauce is so versatile and I love that it’s so rich without being full of fat. The bucatini didn’t end up dry, was still twirl-able and the top had a nice crunchy texture.  I added some red pepper flakes and P added some hot sauce of course.   It was super easy to make which was also very appealing.

Hope you’re enjoying all the great things about this time of year! And don’t worry if everything you’re eating isn’t 100% “clean” or “organic” or any other label.  Nobody can eat like that all the time.  Perhaps next time I’ll share my mozzarella stick adventure!

Till then!

Marissa

Leave a Reply

