Say hello to my little friend…

Dear Friend!

It’s been a while! I’m so glad you like the neighborhood and are settling into the house! I can’t wait to see it…you and P deserve to finally be settled! And, it’s nice that the skondo is back to a weekend / vacation home! What’s your favorite thing about the new house?

Life in Mass has been go-go-go! There’s been something every weekend which is fun, and we’re getting to see a lot of people. My cousin got married, so we got to see family. 2 weekends ago we went to my parents’ house, picked apples from the trees we have at home, crushed and pressed the apples into cider and are now fermenting it! I think it’s working too! The cider by itself was so good (we even added in some pears from my Gram’s property), so we’re hoping that the version with an ABV is even better!

IMG_3046

With all the traveling, we take the week to have downtime after work, mostly watching reruns of Seinfeld, and 24 when Nick can get me to agree to watch it. I’ve been making quite a lot of yummy, filling foods recently, but by the time we finish a meal and someone says “you should blog about this!” it’s past the point of taking a picture (-_-).

I did, however, get a picture of this little guy from last week, and I’d like to introduce you to…the SQUACO! I can not claim anything to the idea of this delicious bowl (I saw a picture on pintrest and ran with the idea), but the name I thought of all on my lonesome.  In line with your stuffed sweet potato, this blends all the flavors of a taco, without the tortilla.

IMG_0907

The Verdict: Really, really good! The spiciness was spot on and the texture of the spaghetti squash gave a nice crunch to the dish. After cooking the spaghetti squash, I teased up the squash and mixed in cheese and pepper flakes. I made mine with black beans, peppers and onions heated up together with chilli and garlic powder and some salt and pepper. Spoon the black bean mixture over the spaghetti squash half and top with more cheese (because…cheese). Nick added some leftover steak to his. Next time, I would add corn or tomatoes to add sweetness and avocado or sour cream (we use plain greek yogurt) to add creaminess.

Tonight’s dinner, on the other hand, is popcorn and grilled cheese. Nick is out in LA this week for work, so I’m fending for myself. I did make a curry lentil stew, but I didn’t cook the lentils enough…definitely will be presoaking them next time! I’m already making my grocery list for next week, I always end up at appetizers for Sunday football for some reason?! Mmm-mmm-mmmm 🙂

Have you and P done anything fall-y yet? We’re hoping to go to a pumpkin patch in the next 2 weeks so we can carve them for Halloween!

See you soon! And in the mean time, Happy Cooking!
Love, Kait

Leave a Reply

