Back In Action! Kind of…

Dear Friend,

Whew these past few weeks have been crazy!! As you know we moved out of our home in South Burlington. We did that on a Wednesday and moved into the skondo (ski condo). On the following Saturday we traveled to Utica for the Boilermaker. We came back Sunday and  were house sitting until Saturday. Then we went back to the 518 to pull out my moms carpets and finally back to Sugarbush. We had a few days off last week so we could finally get settled into the skondo. It’s been non-stop! Living at the skondo has been pretty fun. The area is beautiful this time of year with plenty of hiking and swimming holes. The hour commute is kind of a bummer though. Hopefully we’ll find a house soon!!

On to some food! I didn’t do much cooking the week we moved and then when we were house sitting we grilled every night. Our grill broke at the beginning of the summer and we didn’t want to replace it until we moved so we took full advantage of having a grill! Now that we’re settled at skondo I’ve been able to cook more and we’re back to mainly meatless meals.

This week I made a corn and rice dish. I had this recipe saved for a couple of weeks and it was perfect timing since corn is plentiful and we had rice and coconut milk on hand.  I was a little hesitant about the  curry mix since I didn’t have the fenugreek seeds and I was feeling lazy but I actually found it easily at the local market so I figured I may as well do it. When I tasted the seasoning by itself I thought it was horrible. But it was actually a really nice flavor with the corn.

IMG_2812

I don’t know why this keeps uploading on it’s side but I’ve given up trying to fix it as I’m writing this while I’m on my lunch break at work.  You get the idea though.

The Verdict: Really good and unusual! The combo of curry, corn and coconut is certainly not something I would come up with. As usual my coconut rice came out a little gooey and I had to use a slotted spoon to scoop it out. I actually used 1.5 cups of rice instead of 1 cup. I find 1.5 cups of dry rice to be ideal for 4 servings. Maybe we’re just piggies but 1 cup just does not cut it. The rice took longer than the recipe says but I find brown rice always takes longer, especially if using coconut milk.  Also I did not soak my rice overnight as I never have that kind of forethought but I did rinse it under cold water for about a minute.  I don’t think soaking overnight is really necessary.   I do wish I used a little more than the 1/2 teaspoon of the curry seasoning than it called for. But overall I loved it! We ate it alone but it would be a good side dish at a BBQ.

Anyway, so sorry for the delay! We don’t have internet at the skondo so my posts may be spotty since I’ll have to do it either at work or at the laundromat 🙂

Happy cooking!

Love, Marissa

Leave a Reply

