Salad and Snacks!

Dear Friend,

Happy hump day! I’m glad you’re getting settled into your new place! It’s so exhausting and exciting to move! And I hear you on the eating out business- it’s so much easier and faster when life is crazy but after awhile there’s nothing like a fresh, homemade meal.  Especially in your new kitchen 🙂

We spent several days out of town at the end of last week/beginning of this week.  We went to Sugarbush, then camping at Emerald Lake with my brother and his girlfriend and then back to Sugarbush.  Camping was an adventure- it rained a ton on Friday, the water went out on Saturday and we stumbled upon an interesting group of people while trying to find the one bathroom that still worked. While camping is not my favorite thing I do love camp food, especially when I’m not the one preparing it (yay Jo!).  AND s’mores using chocolate chip cookies instead of graham crackers might be the best thing I’ve ever come up with.

camping

Anyway, I’ve got two recipes to share with you today.  One is a salad and the other is a snack.

First up- the salad.  Now I had originally planned on sharing a different chickpea salad (I know- I cannot cool it on the chickpea salads).  BUT THEN I made this chickpea waldorf salad tonight and I felt I just had to share that instead.

image1

The Verdict: Loved it! At first I was afraid it would be kind of mushy but the apples, celery and walnuts give it a nice crunch. I used cherries instead of grapes because it is that rare time of year when cherries are plentiful and not absurdly priced.  This salad is a great combo of sweet, tart and a tiny bit of spice (I was probably a little heavy handed on the crushed red pepper).  And I love that it calls for plain yogurt vs mayo.  I know I can substitute greek yogurt for mayo in many recipes but I’m often too chicken (or chickpea- hah!) to sub the full amount, usually doing half yogurt half mayo.  Now that I think about it I’m not even sure why I hesitate on subbing yogurt because I don’t even like salads that are heavy on the mayo.  Whatever.

Ok next up- dessert masked as a snack!  I whipped up these carrot cake energy bites last weekend while P was at work.  I need to make these kind of things when P isn’t home because otherwise he eats it all before I an even scoop it out of the bowl.  But when it’s just me I can eat all I want and he’s none the wiser.

FullSizeRender-3 copy

The Verdict: Delish! I only had two medjool dates so I used raisens as well.  Now I recognize that the icing kind of takes away the healthiness of them but you could probably skip it or use less than I did.  However I highly recommend dunking at least one of these bites into a bowl of the icing.  Just saying.  So the downside of these are that they can get kind of mushy even if kept in the fridge.  I found the optimal texture was out of the freezer for ~30 minutes.  These are a great pre or post workout snack or if you’re feeling crazy you could have several for breakfast 🙂

Hope you’ve been able to do some exploring in your new hood! Talk to you soon!

Love, Marissa

Leave a Reply

