Summer Salad

Dear Friend,

It was so great seeing you on Sunday! I was so jealous of your relaxing brunch.  Maybe if I took a swig of your bloody Mary I would have run faster 😉

Today I’m sharing with you one of our favorite salads for summer.  It’s easy to make and is light but filling.  I made it yesterday when it was kind of warm and humid and it totally hit the spot.  Usually when I have salad for dinner I like to have garlic bread with it since I’m a total carb addict but I actually felt fine eating this salad solo.

FullSizeRender-2

The Verdict: Great flavor and textures with all the veggies and chickpeas.  I had some extra red onion so I threw in about 1/4 cup of that which was a nice addition.  I also usually add some cheese because really, salad is just not complete without cheese.  Feta is my usual go-to but since we used it up the night prior on a different salad I diced up about a 1/4 block of cheddar which worked out great.  When I first tasted the dressing off the stovetop I felt like there was a little too much of a vinegar taste so I threw in a little more olive oil and honey.  Also I initially strained the garlic out of the dressing because despite grating the garlic  the chunks seemed big but then I ended up mixing in about half of the garlic.  Anyway, this salad is great for dinner or for lunch.  My only recommendation would be to avoid eating it for lunch during a work meeting because the risk of having fresh herbs in your teeth is fairly high.  Seriously, fresh herbs and chia seeds are my nemesis at work but I just can’t help myself.

I truly hope you guys are watching the spelling bee as you pack.  It’s amazing.  Dev is my favorite. I bet you could have made it into a really great drinking game back in our old days.  These days I have to have it record since I’ll probably fall asleep half way through.  We’re getting so old.

Good luck on the move!

Love, Marissa

Leave a Reply

