I ate mushrooms and I didn’t hate it!

Dear Friend,

I don’t know if you know this, but I love lemon…and I love mounds of pasta. Your Lemon Leek pasta looks so good, I can’t wait to try it. It looks like the perfect spring recipe-hardy, yet light. You mentioned chicken, but I bet chickpeas would be a welcome addition too.

We’re in Boston this week/weekend to try to find a place to live.  We did a lot of walking today, more than I’m used to…I have the blisters on my feet to prove it. All that walking led to quite an appetite. Plus! We’re staying with Shannon [and Chris] in Quincy during our search and we wanted to make her something delicious to say thank you. We decided on made Grilled Pesto Quesadillas.

Originally, we had these quesadilla’s at my parent’s house, which is why I can’t give you a website. They’re made with flour wraps, pesto, cheese, grilled steak (although you could do other kinds of meat) and grilled vegetables.

I tried to do step by step pictures but it didn’t work. So here’s the directions:
Step 1: slice your chosen vegetables in think strips. We chose zuchinni, summer squash, onion and mushrooms (eeks!). Lightly and evenly coat them in olive oil.
Step 2: marinate your choice of meat. We chose steak and used salt, pepper and garlic powder
Step 3: GRILL! until vegetables are tender and the meat is cooked to your liking.

IMG_2522
Step 4: dice the meat and veggies.
Step 5: take a flour tortilla and spread an even layer of pesto all over
Step 6: sprinkle the fillings (cheese, meat and veggies) on half of the tortilla. Fold the tortilla in half
Step 7: grill the tortilla. get those nice markings on the outside and make sure you melt the cheese!
Step 8: let cool 2-3 minutes, cut and ENJOY!

IMG_2527The Verdict: Good & not awful for you! The pesto is a great addition to the quesadilla. This has great potential to get more creative too; I’d love to add some sun-dried tomato or roasted red pepper. I like that this recipe is done mostly outdoors on the grill, but can easily be transferred inside on rainy or winter days. When we made these at my parents, we had feta cheese, which was a salty alternative but lent itself well to the other flavors. I think you guys would definitely enjoy these!

Well, it’s getting past my bedtime. We’ve got some exploring to do tomorrow so I should get my rest…at least for my feet’s sake. Poor things.

Take care! and see you soon! 🙂
Love, Kait

Leave a Reply

