Sweet Heat Goodness

Dear Friend,

I’m so glad you made that mac and cheese recipe because I thought that recipe sounded tasty. I’ve been intrigued by all the cashew sauce recipes floating around lately.  I was a cashew naysayer for a long time but your buffalo dip converted me! I’ve actually never used gemelli before.   Lately we’ve been obsessed with bucatini but we’ll have to give that a try!

This week I tried Eating Well’s sweet and sour tofu.  Now normally it does not fly when I try to sneak tofu into the grocery cart however I was shopping solo on Sunday as P was…well let’s just say he was under the weather.  So the tofu made it home!

FullSizeRender copy

The Verdict: Winner winner tofu dinner!  I’m sure you can imagine how suspect P was since your hubby would probably be the same.  I practically held my breath as he took his first bite.  And guess what- he actually liked it!  I think his actual words were, “yeah this is ok” which actually means “I like it a lot but I don’t want to admit it.”  It was, as it indicated, a perfect blend of sweet and sour.  We did drizzle some sriacha sauce on top because we like things spicy around here (wink).  Sweet heat as P likes to call it.  We had it over brown rice but I bet it would be really good over some rice noodles too.  I made extra sauce (about another half the original recipe) because you know I like things saucy (wink again?).   Anyway, I totally loved this dish and P tolerated it so I call that a success considering it had tofu in it.  Definitely going to be making this again!

Hope you’re having a great week and that you have a super fun trip this weekend! Have a mint julep for me! Actually, who am I kidding…I’ll have one for myself 😉

Til next time!

Love, Marissa

Leave a Reply

