Comfort Food

Dear Friend,

Your post on cauliflower got me thinking how little I actually use it. Typically, I use it in my buffalo dip or in curry dishes (they just seem to go hand-in-hand so well!) While I didn’t make a recipe this week with cauliflower in it, I really want to start looking into other things I can do with it. Since cutting out meat, I’m always in search of other “vehicles” to get the flavors I want without always turning to carbs or soy. I’m thinking tacos…I’m not huge on beans either so if I can get that delicious taco spicy-ness on a cauliflower, well I’d be one happy girl.

That being said, poor Nick! I’m in search of delicious and nutritious alternatives to meat, and the mister just wants a burger! This week grocery shopping I forgot to get meat so I apologized profusely, dug through my freezer and found a bag of chicken for chicken pot pie. I found this recipe for Individual Chicken Pot Pie that he will get to try, and hopefully enjoy. I’ll report back after I make them!

This week I decided to try a recipe I found from Mind, Body, Green. I get their daily emails and for the most part, I love the articles that they share and find a little take away from each one. Mac and Cheese to live for is a healthy, vegan twist on the classic comfort food. While I’m not trying to cut out dairy (or eggs, for that matter-I don’t think I could do that since it’s one of your favs! I wouldn’t be able to try any of your recipes ^_^), I was intrigued by the cashews. In some of my pintrest-ing adventures, I’ve come across cashew “cheese” sauce. I have a love-hate relationship with Moe’s Queso and have been looking for an alternative to satisfy that delicious, creamy dip craving that isn’t awful for me. This Mac and “Cheese” recipe seemed like a good way into cashew-cheese sauces.

IMG_9017

The Verdict: It’s creamy, like every god Mac and Cheese should be, and so full of flavor, very similar to nutritional yeast (even though there is none in the recipe!). This is the first time I’ve cooked with tumeric and I can’t wait to see what else I can do with it. The color is very vivid, which is one thing that is importnat to me. I don’t like bland colored foods, I feel the more naturally colorful, the more nutrients it contains. I used Gemelli pasta and really enjoyed that, it has nice bite to it and and holds on to the sauce.  I’d definitely make this recipe again!

Hopefully the weather picks itself up and gets warmer. I’m excited to get outside and grill more! I hope you have a great week, I can’t wait to see what you cook up next!

Love, Kait

2 thoughts on “Comfort Food

Leave a Reply

