My Turn.

Dear Friend,

I definitely agree with your 80-20 rule, although recently I feel like I’ve been more 51% healthy 49% unhealthy. I think I need to make sure I purchase snacks to get me through meals, when I get super hungry is when I eat anything I want. This week I bought Salt and Vinegar Chips, Kit-Kat and Twix (the big ones) to have for the office. Not Good. Also, I’ve also been really slacking on my dishes, which means I’m not having my green smoothies. Also, Not Good.

I’m really intrigued by your Sofritas bowls. I don’t think I’m a fan of tofu, but in reality I don’t know how to cook it, so I appreciate the recipe! I decided to cut meat out of my diet. I really wasn’t a fan of meat anyways, and after watching Food, Inc for the 4th time I decided this is it. My sister has been vegetarian for almost 2 years and if she can do it, so can I!

My mom came down for a crafternoon last Saturday. And, by the term “craft”ernoon I mean we went to Hobby Lobby and Target (a.k.a. my “gym”), came back, made lunch, sat down on my couch, named Big Blue, and watched the movie “Hungry For Change”. Our couch, which Nick INSISTS is green but is clearly blue (hence the name), is really comfortable and has perfect indentations for just lounging which is why we didn’t end up crafting. To get to the point, lunch…I finally made the Sweet potato-Chickpea burgers you talked about here.

IMG_2639

My Verdict: I’m in love. The texture is not mushy at all because of the oats, and the cajun flavor is subtly spicy! And how stinkin’ easy are these to make! I told my mom I think it’d be so good to add either buffalo or curry flavors instead of the cajun seasoning to mix it up. My mom and the Mr. both really liked them too! We had ours with a side of Frito’s corn chips. They were tasty, but I saw the calories and immediately regretted that decision. Steamed Broccoli is a much better choice! (Speaking of, I finally bought a vegetable steamer and am in love with it!).

You and I had talked when I visited about making our own margaritas. Because, hello, they’re delicious. I’m on my second right now and it’s probably one of the best I’ve had (insert tooting of own horn, here). I used this recipe for a sweet and sour mix. No, it’s not the healthiest, but I really like the fact that I know what the ingredients are that are in it. And, the reality is that only a splash is needed in your marg. I’ve had this in the refrigerator for a while but only finally used it. My margarita was Cabo Wabo tequila, Grand Marnier and the homemade Sweet and Sour Mix. Oh, and Ice.

The Verdict:

IMG_6377

Yup, that’s an empty glass because it was so good I couldn’t wait to take a picture. The Sweet and Sour Mix is so easy to make and lasts a long time. I’d give you the recipe for the Marg, but let’s be real, I don’t exactly “measure” when it comes to my drinks. I think it’d be fun to find a good way to add flavors (like Raspberry, or watermelon for the summer); I’ll look into that for my next trip up north! The nice thing about Sweet and Sour Mix is that it’s needed in so many drinks that it really is a versatile item to have in your fridge!

I can’t wait to see what you share next! I’m hopeful that after this week, I’m more adventurous into healthier options, but for now, I’ll be here with my margaritas. ^_^

Love, Kait

Leave a Reply

