Where it starts.

Dear Food Friend,

Thank you so much for an amazing weekend. I had a great time and it was just what I needed to have so much time with you and Toby. I loved learning how you make almond milk, and trying out those almond milk-pulp bars, despite them not working out. I can’t wait to show my mom next weekend and keep making the almond milk for my green smoothies!

My favorite part of the weekend was creating this blog with you. I can’t wait to see where this adventure takes us and to see what we can learn from each other and hopefully share with others!

The spicy lentil bowl you made Sunday look delicious! I have some prepared lentils, I added the spices and some scrambled egg into it (I was in a time crunch), unfortunately didn’t get to eat it because work got real busy, real fast. I will sometime this week though–I can’t wait!

Tonight’s meal is Sundried Tomato and Artichoke Lasagna with Chicken Sausage. I didn’t find the recipe from a website, I kind of just through everything together.  The cheese mixture was made with Ricotta (16 ounce tub), 1 Cup Cottage Cheese, 1/2 C chopped sun dried tomatoes, 1 can artichokes-rinsed and drained and 1 package chicken sausage-diced (I used sun-dried tomato chicken sausage). Mixed all together, I then alternated layering lasagna noodles, the cheese mixture and shredded mozzarella. To top it off, I sprinkled canned diced tomatoes that had been rinsed and drained and baked at 375° for 30 minutes.

IMG_2301
The Verdict: Super Yummy, Super comfort-y. Could be made a little healthier. Next time I’d like to try Whole Wheat lasagna noodles (do they make those?), maybe add spinach, and think of a different filler to take the place of some of the cheese. All things to work on!

Until next time, Happy Eating!!
Love, Kait

One thought on “Where it starts.

  1. That looks so tasty!! I’m so impressed you came up with this on your own. I’m chained to recipes 🙂 I believe Barilla makes a whole wheat lasagna noodle- it’s the only one I’ve been able to find but its only 51% whole wheat. Maybe they have some at the co-op?

    Thanks for explaining the blog! I tend to dive right into things 😉

    Let me know how the almond milk works out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

